Help Required

HarryMonk
HarryMonk Posts: 9
edited October 2009 in MTB beginners
Hello all, I am new to this game so please be nice, I need some help with the type of bike to go for?

I have a budget of £250, I know its not much but it is just to get started.

A bit of back ground, I'm 6ft 3" 16.5 stone (I know I need to lose a bit), and live in the New Forest so will be going off the beaten track when possible.

I look to reading all of your advise
New to this game and not in the best shape (yet)

Comments

• joec1
    joec1 Posts: 494
    for that budget....

either a second hand specialized rockhopper/hardrock...

or a new mongoose tyax / gt.

you should be able to get a fair deal on a tyax elite... or if you could strech then a super... (hydro brakes and better fork)
    www.settingascene.com - MTBing in Wilts and the southwest, join up for info and ride details.
  • steelo
    steelo Posts: 542
    Apparently the Carrera Vulcan is a good cheap bike. Not sure of the actual cost but the overly price common-as-muck generic motorvehicle shop does sell them.

(Couldn't bring myself to type the 'H' word!)
    Specialized Rockhopper '07
    Trek Fuel EX8 '09
  • Thanks Steelo just had a look at the Carrera £289 but does have 20% off dropping the price to £232, maybe worth a look.

What about the Giant Boulder, I have heard good things?
  • jayson
    jayson Posts: 4,606
    Im currently riding an 08 Vulcan with a few upgrades on it and its a great bike, it really doesnt feel like a 'cheap' bike but like what u would expect a proper mtb to feel like. Its very stiff and direct if not the lightest bike ibn the world.

All that said, i was absolutely amazed when i picked up a friends On One recently and it was actually heavier than my vulcan, it was only marginal but heavier is still heavier.

To sum up, the vulcan is a worthy bike aslong as u get the disc version sou can upgrade to hydros easy when u wish to at sopme point.
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473