Road riding traffic advice

mark@graphicalss.co.uk
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Note, I posted this first on cyclingnews.com and someone said that this was more UK centric forum so forgive me if you have already read this on the other forum.

I am pretty new to road riding - nothing serious, I just try to go out for an hour or two each day. I have to go on some pretty busy routes (Snake Pass and Woodhead for those of you in the UK).

Pretty much every day I have a close call with a car or a wagon. How do people ride? I tend to hug the pavement / verge as closely as possible but I don't know if making myself as small as possible is the best approach.

Should I ride like this or should I put myself a bit further into the road? I thikn some of the problems I have are caused by people not having to make too much effort to get past me and misjudging it because they do not have to pull out very much.

As mentioned, I am pretty inexperienced at road riding! I have had some advice on the cycling news forum but thought I would raise the topic here as well.

Comments

• will3
    will3 Posts: 2,173
    a bit further out, but not so far that you appear to be trying to hold people up.
  • I tend to sit myself where the left wheel of a car would be - i.e. not in the gutter but not in the middle of the lane. If you give them too much room then they are more likely to try and squeeze past rather than give you adequate room IMO.
    Never argue with an idiot - they drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience
  • Thanks. I think the mistake I make is to ride to close in so they don't need to make that much effort to get past. Sitting a bit further out will force them to make a bit of an effort.

Bit scary when it's an HGV trying to get past on Woodhead though!

Other tips I got were to wear somthing bright to increase the "bubble"!