Had 6 week check...

joec1
joec1 Posts: 494
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
Ok. so i bought a Mongoose Tyax Super (it ticked all the boxes for me.. and cost was better than a Specialized)

picked it up and loved it.

first few rides are always a bit new... and i knew that cables would stretch a little etc and need adjusting in the service. So.... after taking it for a short 5 mile ride in some local woods (for softies like me) and experiencing some chain slap and really soft suspension that didnt seem to wanna lockout or adjust as it should i sufficed to a LBS.

becasue i would the bike from a shop thats a 60 mile round trip from my house i had the LBS take a look at it.

Before reading below please note that i am a newb to this mountain bike malarky. and while i have riden hard offroad before, have never shopped and bought specifically for this market... usually just as a play bike.

the following items were picked up in the service:
Cables needed adjusting.
Front wheel marginally buckled.
Front Forks seeping oil from lower seal?? they advised me to monitor it as it may just be settling... but on the other hand may need new seals.
Rear Chain 4 links too long!!! which has caused chain slap that hs worn through the rear plastic sticker they supply to the arm and chipped off paint.
Front remote Lockout wouldnt work (cable not adjusted properly.)
Front preload wouldnt adjust - forks not set up correcly... (this is now fixed)

To some this may seem like an easy list or even a simple fix.

But i am pretty annoyed that i have been given the "one of those things" responcse by the origional bike store when i asked what they were going ot do about the chain being too long and damaging my frame.....

am i being too stubhorn and demanding in wanting a resopnse?

I work in a Commercial environment and always expect a quality, presise product for my money. which ...if the chain had been correct would have left me with a frame that wasnt chipped or battered.

GRRRR....