Hardrock Pro 2010

Psylix
Psylix Posts: 2
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi Forum,

Ive just purchased a 2010 Hardrock pro, and although, it seemed like a good deal, i feel I have been let down by the X4 shifters (and the bare cables under the frame are a bit beastly as well.)

Overall, i feel the shocks are great, the brakes are great, but those X4's are really bugging me, in fact, one guy in a forum elsewhere described them as "garbage" [sic] and quite frankly, they feel low quality plastic bits of kit.

As I have had this bike for less than a day now, and the fact that I am new to the whole MTB scene (used to ride road bkes a lot though) maybe I am being too judgmental. Is the hardrock pro a good choice overall?

I'm almost on the point of changing the whole set up for the X9 models, which is due to cost me about £150, which seems mental on a bike that Ive just paid £550 on.

Maybe i just need some consolidation, therefore are the X4's as bad as they feel?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    As far as 2010 bikes go, this is one of the better value ones. Spesh has fitted a decent frame, fork and brakes - something had to give.

They are perfectly functinal gears, but not as good as X9 for instance. X9 wouldl probably be overkill anyway.
  • andy46
    andy46 Posts: 1,666
    i've had my hardrock sport over a year, and it has been nothing but reliable.

it's a really good bike :D just enjoy it and don't get hung up on numbers :?
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4

2014 Specialized Allez Sport
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    I have X4 shifters, and as long as they change the gears precisely they are good.
    Although my mate's X5 feels a bit better.
  • Spira
    Spira Posts: 14
    I have a 2010 Spesh hardrock sport disc that has X4's. On the whole I think they are fine, a tad clunky at times but no major complaints.
    2010 Specialized hardrock sport disc.