New to Tubeless - What repair kit to carry etc.?

timmys
timmys Posts: 191
edited September 2009 in MTB general
My new bike has tubeless tyres (Conti Race King UST on XT rims) and I am a complete newb to tubeless and slightly confused about what kit I should carry with me for on-trail repairs

Obviously with tubeless I should have less need to worry about punctures but I don't want to ruin a days riding by not being properly equipped for the worst. So what should I carry? Patches for the tyres themselves? Those rubber worm things? Sealant? CO2 inflator?

Should I carry a tube anyway? - I'm not really sure if in an emergency fitting a tube is possible.

I'm sure I've read that with UST tyres sealant is not essential. I don't really understand that at all - surely any puncture is going to mean total deflation. Can I assume the tyres on my bike came with sealant in them?

Sorry, lots of stupid questions!

Comments

• First off, your tyres won't have sealant in them.

Correct a thorn type puncture won't seal unless you have some sort of sealant. I use about 50mm of Stans Solution in my rear tyre and for some reason have never put any in the front, but have never suffered a puncture.

In my trail pack, I do carry a tube most of the time, and a small bottle of sealant, in case there's not enough in the tyre. (I prefer the weight in my Camelbak than in the tyre!). I also take tyre levers and that's about it in terms of tyre tools. If you regularly ride with other people, you could probably forget the tube and just blag one if you ever need it, I did once when I tore a sidewall and the sealant wouldn't plug the leak!

The good thing with a proper UST system is the fact that the tyre is locked into the rim. Even if the tyre does go fully down, you only need a hand pump to re inflate it.