SeeSaws

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
Maybe not entirely MTB beginner, but certainly a beginning question for me as I've never done these things before.

So, how would one do these? :D

[edit: pic removed by request. Suffice to say it's a see-saw, somewhere in Surrey]

Noting that I'm not a freerider, but like a little bit of northshore, and potter around on an all rounder full-sus.

Comments

• Beardface
    Beardface Posts: 5,495
    As far as I'm aware, ride up, find the balance point to where it starts tipping over, and then roll down the other side (pedalling or not, your choice mate)

I could be wrong, others may have better advice, but thats how I approach them.. Its all about balance..

Where is that pic taken, anywhere near woking?
  • Anonymous
    edited October 2009
    I was wondering if you should use the brakes or not. My fear is falling sideways when I get to the balance point! or otherwise go too fast and take off or something :D
  • Beardface
    Beardface Posts: 5,495
    Depends how comfortable you feel riding up it.. maybe a touch of the brakes if it helps you balance out at the mid-point (if that makes sense?), or if you've taken it too quickly, but that one doesnt look too high, so you should be alright to get a foot down if you do start heading sideways!! :) Practice makes perfect.. good luck!

It looks like a great one for practising before heading Esher way mate.. cheers for the info on location too.. thats actually not too far from where I work... :D After-work playtime methinks!!
  • I'd ride it with flats first , just incase you need to stick a leg out to balance, don't think it would be that tricky though, and if you do it slow at first you'll only suffer a comedy bail rather than a serious stack.
    Santa Cruz Chameleon
    Orange Alpine 160
  • andy46
    andy46 Posts: 1,666
    i'd probably go round it :lol: :oops:
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4