Yank asking Brits about French cycling clubs.

fast4forty
fast4forty Posts: 6
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Hello all,

I'm new to Paris (and this forum), and am interested if any of you know of any English speaking cycling clubs or training rides, British or otherwise, in the Paris area.

Really looking forward to suffering in some great rides like the 257km Amstel Gold "Tourist Version" next spring and the Marmotte in July.

Thanks and Merci!

Comments

• daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    Hi,

Having worked in a French orientated society I would recommend becoming fluent in French and immersing yourself in the culture. You will have a much more satisfying time than remaining Anglaise.
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    ACCB - Athletic Club de Bologne Billancourt - are a popular club and have a long history of hosting Anglophone riders - including Robert Millar, Allan Peiper, Phil Anderson and Paul Sherwen amongst others. I know someone who is a member and they are very accommodating. They are in fact a municipal sports club with a cycling section. There train around the Bois de Bologne, a very popular cycling area in the Paris suburbs.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Thank you for the information, Monty! I will certainly look into this club.

And yes, Daviese, I have every intention of immersing myself in French Culture, as I live and work in the center of Paris. It's just nice to have an outlet where I don't have to struggle to communicate.

Thanks to you both.
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    Sounds like you are in for a good time. Jealous :wink:
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • inseine
    inseine Posts: 5,786