Oh! These pedals...

Wayupnorth
Wayupnorth Posts: 40
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Another newbie here,

Had a nice but heavy Dawes Kickback comp for 13 years, used daily in summer, but never in anger.

I recently bought a cottage in the Northern Scottish highlands and needed something a bit lighter, so along came the Kona Caldera 2009, which I have had for 4 weeks or so. Apart from gear change headaches, so far an impressive bike.

BUT, the clipless pedals STILL keep me awake at night!!

Having overcome the urban cycling problems of traffic lights, dogs etc.. I now need to overcome the steep hills of the highlands.

I'm no youngster, so can't climb hils like a mountain goat any more - need a rest now & then!

Anyone got any tips on using SPDs on steep climbs??

And.... anyone here north of Inverness?

Ta!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    find a wall. and sit on the bike.

Now just lean againt the wall amd clip in / clip out\/ clip in / clip out.

having reduced the spring tension to minimum.

it will come to you.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • I put my clipless pedals in my garage and put flats on! I live in Caithness so possibly even further north than you!
    AUT PAX AUT BELLUM
    My Kayaking Blog http://naefearjustbeer.wordpress.com/
  • Make sure you losen the tension off to the point where you are confident you can kick out and not lose any of the tension so much that your feet come free without warning.

Practice getting the feel of removing your feet from the pedals.

The good thing about SPDs is they can aid you're climbing in two ways

1. Keeping your feet in the optimum position to apply power (as long as your seat is adjusted properly too)
    2. You can pull the pedal up as well as down to get more power (builds thigh muscles too!)