Is it worth upgrading ?

bulkylad
bulkylad Posts: 9
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
i have been riding again for a couple of months after a good 12 years off , time to lose the beer belly and get some fitness and have been really enjoying some quite technical rides (what i class as technical anyway ;) )around the peak district.

i bought a GT avalanche 1.0 2009 and am very happy with my purchase however i am a bit of an upgrade freak and wondered whether the gt was actually worth upgrading (having seen many a thread similar where a new purchase was recommended) , i definately won't be upgrading for a while unless something breaks but maybe a purchase around Christmas might be in order, what would be the best buy , or should i just save my money ?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    50/50 this one. By the time you have put better forks and hydro discs on, you might as well have bought a better bike really.
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    As you're very happy with the bike, then you don't really need to upgrade

But things like tyres can lessen the weight of the bike quite cheaply (Folding Vs Wire bead)

What is the spec of the bike?
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • supersonic wrote:
    50/50 this one. By the time you have put better forks and hydro discs on, you might as well have bought a better bike really.

already has hydro brakes :) , ok entry level tektro auriga comp but they seem to work well , a new fork was something i would think about , but haven't i clue what to look at ? , would it really make a massive difference ??
    would have loved have bought a better bike but would definately have lost my nuts. . . . due to my wife removing them , she was happy for me to spend a couple of hundred , i had already pushed my luck :)

Current specs : stock apart from rear mech why it cam with XT is a mystery

Seat Post - Alloy Micro adjust
    • Grips - GT Dual Density ATB
    • Headset - Tange system for 1.1/8"