Lower Back Pain

MattHall
MattHall Posts: 4
edited September 2009 in Health, fitness & training
Hi im new to the forum!

I'm also fairly new to mountain biking aswell, i bike everywhere on my BMX and i used to do odd trails on a MTB every weekend a few years ago, but have recently got back into riding mountain bikes. One thing i have noticed though after around 10 minutes of riding i get a sharp pain in my lower back which lasts for around 2-5 mins, then goes away! My seat is adjusted at the right height for me and i think the bars are too. I am around 6ft 2" and have short legs and a longer top half which may be causing some pains? I also get the same pain in the morning when i first get out of bed!

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this before and what they did to 'fix' it! :)

Comments

• kind of depends...
    do you have an old back injury?
    do you have poor posture generally?
    if you do any core work to strengthen your abs and back does your back 'go' then as well?
    If yes to any of the above then physio for specific exercises.
    If no then do
    1 - general core work to eliminate any weakness issues
    2 - stretch gently before you ride
    3 - perhaps raise the height of the handlebars to see if a more upright posture helps
  • I did once get jumped on by a big guy when i was on the floor and i literally folded in half, and couldn't walk properly for a few weeks. I also have quite poor posture so im guessing this is the problem. I will try raising the bars to see if that helps at all.

Thanks...
  • im 6'4" and had the same problem as you for ages. what helped me was strengthening my core - situps, doing the plank etc.......... i still get a dull pain on longer rides but its nothing compared to before.
  • I am not a doctor but have had a similar problem this worked for me