Is a new fork worthwhile?

alomac
alomac Posts: 189
edited August 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I'm a beginner (naturally) and have a Dart 3 fitted to my Trek 6300 hardtail. While I can't seem to get more than 80mm travel out of it, I can't say I've ever felt dissatisfied with it's performace so far.

The thing is that I go back home to Australia at the end of the year, and because bike gear is usually more expensive there, it would be a good idea, if I'm ever going to upgrade my fork, to do it now. The problem is, I don't know if said upgrade would be worthwhile. Like I said, I'm not actually unhappy with my current fork, but then again it's the only fork I've ever ridden, so it may just be that I don't know what I'm missing. I'm not particularly concerned with comfort, rather with whether it will help my riding.*

I could probably only afford to buy something at the Tora or Recon level. My riding right now is wheels-to-the-ground on very rocky and rooty trails, with steep climbs and descents (themselves usually rocky and rooty). As I get more skilled, I'd like to also branch out into some downhill/jump-type riding, but nothing too insane since I have an XC frame.

Cheers,
Adam.

*By "help" I don't mean that I expect that bolting a new fork to my bike is going to turn me into Gee Atherton or something.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The Tora or recon would be a nice upgrade, but if you can afford a Reba I would get that.
  • Changing the fork on your bike will make a huge difference to its performance and handling. I did it to mine last year and it's a totally different bike. If you spend the time looking for the 'perfect' fork, then you will have no problems.
  • alomac
    alomac Posts: 189
    Would a Reba be a good choice for the bike I have, or would I be better off getting the cheaper Tora/Recon and putting the money saved in the "eventual new bike" pot?