not losing any weight despite exercise (lots of)??

renton
renton Posts: 487
edited August 2009 in Health, fitness & training
right i after some help here as im at my wits end!!

basically over the past 2 or so months Ive drastically changed my diet and exercise regime and i haven't lost any weight??

basically ive cut all spoons of sugar( i worked it out at 23 spoonfuls a day!!) and coffee from my diet .

ive also upped the amount of exercise ive been doing to 4 times a week for an hour at a time .

im just not losing any weight??

why is this ?

Comments

• redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Might be that you are losing weight in the form of fat you are burning off but it is being replaced by the muscle you are now developing from all the excercise. Muscle weighs more than fat.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • mhuk
    mhuk Posts: 327
    I'm no expert but if the calorific value of the food you consume is greater than the calories burnt during exercise you'll not lose weight. There are some online calorie food calculators (I'm sure google will find them). Do you drink - booze has loads of calories?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    What type of exercise? Certain rates will burn fat off.

23 spoons of sugar is about 350 cals. Better than you were, but if you are still eating 3500 a day then that will need to be addressed.
  • Fat burn rate is something like 60% of your VO2 max... its not a very high intensity. However you need to exercise for over an hour to see any benefits.

I suggest you look at your diet a bit closer... If you would like any guidance then send me a PM... Just graduated with a degree in nutrition so I may as well make use of it :lol:
  • renton
    this is what my daily diet looks like...........

brekkie.
    small glass orange juice
    cup of tea
    large bowl of cereal with skimmed milk

snack at 10.00
    handful of raisins and a yogurt

lunch .
    soup
    3 slices of bread unbuttered.