A quick intro and a couple of questions!

scarbs85
scarbs85 Posts: 170
edited August 2009 in MTB beginners
Hey all,

I'm kinda new to mountain biking. Not riden since my old bike got stolen a couple of years back, but used to do quite a bit of scrambling round woods and mud before I got a driving licence. I've decided to have a crack again, and bought myself a Specialized Hardrock Sport. Enjoying the new bike so far, and having a bit of fun riding round trying to find some places to go.

So anyway, first question. Whats the best way to pick up routes and trails? I'm from Beeston area in Notts, though I've not been here long so very little idea of the local area or where might be good to go. So far I've just been playing around Attenborough. Anybody recommend routes, or websites to plan stuff out, or live in the area and be happy to take an extra along on a ride?

Secondly, I need to get a few bits of kit. Mudguards, waterproof and cycle computer are pretty high on the list. What sort of stuff should I be looking at? Are full guards on the front better than the downpipe style guards. Do people bother with guards at all or just embrace the mud? Any recommendations on bits of kit which are good, bad or simply essential would be great.

Look forward to a couple of responses, sorry for the long winded post.

Comments

• ads4
    ads4 Posts: 698
    I don't bother with mudguards, getting mucky is all part of the fun ;)

Computer wise, I've just ordered a Cateye Strada wireless...

http://www.merlincycles.co.uk/cycle-com ... eless.html

Heard good things about them :)
    Adam.

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

Current ride - Yeti ASR 5a X0
  • WeAreACC
    WeAreACC Posts: 20
    Wireless computers keep your bike looking neater. The cheaper ones can be a bit dodgy staying attached to your fork- Cateye's use zip-ties rather then sticky pads so they stay on.