finished my half marathon!

mea00csf
mea00csf Posts: 558
edited August 2009 in Health, fitness & training
Just thought i'd post an update (ok i just wanted to tell the world!) I did my half marathon on Sunday. When i started training over 4 months ago now i wanted under 2h 10m so happy to have completed in 1h 59m 20s, I'm exstatic :D Sub 2hrs feels good!!

Had problems with ITB for a lot of the training and was having physio so to finish it feels like an achievement. Didn't feel the knee pain for any of the run, when i'd finished and stopped for a while then when I started to walk back to the car it started to stiffen up and become sore so don't think i could have pushed any harder really.

Was gutted for some of the top competitors tho, there was a marshal missing at a key turn and lots went over half a km in the wrong direction at around 8 miles. Cost the leading woman (who was in the lead by miles apparently) her first place and £125 prize money and she came in 4th i believe. Many more people had months of training and possible PBs ruined so really gutted for them. Luckily i was far enough back that by the time i got there there was a steady stream of people to follow.

Comments

• robmanic1
    robmanic1 Posts: 2,150
    Great effort! Did my first a month or so back in 1:55, I only had 4 weeks to train for the half (but my knees aren't buggered, yet). Have you any other runs planned in?
    Doing a 10k in November, just to give me the incentive to keep training.
    Pictures are better than words because some words are big and hard to understand.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34335188@N07/3336802663/
  • J55TTC
    J55TTC Posts: 224
    Well done! sub 2 hr is a cracking time!

Ive done a few 10km's (Buba & Asics etc) and signed up for the bristol half marathon.

Im also hoping for a sub 2 hr but think it will be very close. Finished most of my 10kms in 54 mins :)
  • rhyko7
    rhyko7 Posts: 781