Help! Preperation for Gorrick Enduro next summer! Beginner!

Helen-mtb
Helen-mtb Posts: 112
edited July 2009 in MTB beginners
Basically... This is my first post and i'm pretty new to this...

I've always wanted to enter a 12 hour endurace kinda race. And after going to soooo many 24 hour races in support of more experienced friends, it's got to the point where myself and a friend are itchingggg to get out there! (Even though half of the Bontrager course took me about 45 minutes this weekend on saturday morning, maybe a little more!!) :oops:

We thought Gorrick enduro would be a good'un? After a year to get a little more serious and confident on (off) the saddle?

I ride a Specialized Myka Elite and haven't changed anything on it.

Any tips on training, fitness/technique? Or anything i should do with my bike/equipment before this time next year?

Thanks Guys! Please post some responses!
Helen x

Comments

• GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    Haven't tried anything like this event, but the latest issue of Mountain Bike Action (US mag, but it's stocked by some places in the UK) has an article with tips for 12 and 24 hour races.

The issue is labelled as August.
  • Helen-mtb
    Hmm good plan!

Dont suppose you know where i could head with womens spd shoes? i have noooo idea what i need to buy for clip ins... there seems to be lots of parts and different things. Pedals, cleats, shoes... do they have to be the same make? please dont laugh lol im not up with all this kinda stuff! I think it's about time i invested in some! x
  • GHill
    Clipless pedals comprise of two different parts, the pedal and the cleat. The cleat is attached to the bottom of the shoe and usually a specific brand of cleat will only fit the same brand of pedal.

The good news is that the pedals come with cleats that fit! The cleats can be bolted to pretty much any cycling specific shoe so you can choose a shoe on looks/fit and worry about the pedals later.