Stolen bikes in Bristol

PC Frank
PC Frank Posts: 24
edited August 2009 in Road stolen
Hello everyone,
I am a new user on this forum and wanted to introduce myself to you all.

My name is Frank and I am a police officer working with the Community Safety Team at Newfoundland Road Police Station.

One of my roles is to reduce bike theft in Bristol city over the next two years in tandem (haha) with the timetable for cycling city.

I wanted to join this forum so that users would have an opportunity to contact me directly and discuss the issue of bike theft.

Now for the contriversal part.......are you ready........(deep breath).......I am not a cyclist.

However, I do know something about crime reduction and I am concerned about the level of theft in the city and want to help prevent people becoming victim's of crime.

I hope that my presence on this forum will be of benefit to you. I won't always be able to provide the result you desire, and I won't always be able to tell you everything the police is doing (some of it is a bit secret squirrel). But I wil do my best to assist and advise you.

Cheers,

Frank

PC 1422 Frank Simonds
Crime Prevention Design Advisor
Bristol Community Safety Team
Newfoundland Road Police Station

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    Hi Frank

Thanks for coming on here, pleased to know there are PC's out there working on this.
  • dru
    dru Posts: 1,341
    Hi Frank,

Welcome aboard.

Lets get this thread rocking and roliing by asking you what would be your top 3 tips for theft prevension and recovery success for bikes?
  • Nice to see you on board Frank - would you like to come for a easy short ride to help you understand a bit about the cyclist brain?

Have you got any tips for bike crime hotspots to avoid in the centre of town?

I presume you're checking out things like this forum? <http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12636449&gt;

Nick