Relative newb with "exotic" bike - is it any good?

Czenglish
Czenglish Posts: 26
edited July 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi, been lurking here for a while, and have just signed up. I've been riding for about 18 months, and am totally smitten! I'm a Brit expat living in the Czech Republic, and the "default" bike brand here is Author - www.author.cz/en

My wife thought - correctly - that I needed more exercise, and bought me this: http://www.author.cz/en/kola/katalog/&c ... pid=601591 - price was around 300 quid.

This is my exact bike in every regard. I've not changed anything, beyond adding a cycle-computer, some cheap lights - and lots of mud! It's done over 1100km so far without any real problems - only a clicking pedal (just needed some oil) & a stretched brake cable - which I'll replace as soon as I work out how.

My preferred riding is XC, but I do encounter the occaisonal light technical section on local forest trails. It's the first bike I've ridden in nearly 30 years, so I have nothing to compare it with. Just wondered how this compares to the other makes/models I see being discussed here.

Also wondered if there's anything I should look at upgrading.

Thanks for any comments.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Have a read of the parktools link in my sig for How Toos

spec seems about right for £300 from a low volume brand.

some things that glare for replacement are pedals and bars.

and possibly the wheels could go lighter. but I would not go mad as the frame is a bit dated.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I agree on the bars - spend 10- 20 quid on an alloy bar.
  • Czenglish