NEW to MTB not new to riding. need help

ILLEGAL
ILLEGAL Posts: 11
edited July 2009 in MTB beginners
so , im new to this who MTB/freeride thing and am looking to get started , i really cant find any info on the net but maybe im not looking in the right spot , ive been ridin freestyle BMX and flatland since i was way young , and gave it up a couple yrs back due to the fact i cant fit on 20 inch bikes all that well, and 21.5's arent that much better lol so anyway i found this vid on youtube after seeing something on Tv about Wistler Bc, and know im Fing hooked , i coud never do drops like that on a BMX , atleast not without cracking the frame or snapping pedals hell even giving the wheels the "taco effect" lol
so i guess my few ?'s r #1 what size bike should i get , im 6 ft 2 # 2 what is a good inexpensive bike to pick up that will hold up well, <cause im flat ass broke, or should i buy a frame and build my own ? # 3 WTF is up with the forks being so damn expensive ?
#4 what elese should i know b 4 i go and ride down the side of a fing mountain?
thanks a ton ,

Comments

• ILLEGAL
    really 6 ppl looked @ this and had NO advice , wow ........:(
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Probably because this is an English language forum and nobody has clue what you are on about... :roll:
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • ILLEGAL
    Oh........ I didn't realize you guys were that anal about it. ........ :roll:
    Thanks for speaking for the site bro.
    (Note to the site) You guys should should stop this mad man, he's running people off.. :(
  • Phinx
    Phinx Posts: 297
    Well if you are 6.2 you should get a 20' - 21' frame, but you still should sit on a bike you are planning to buy because there still might be a different feel for the bikes even if the sizes are the same.