When will my backside stop hurting?

Max A
Max A Posts: 21
edited August 2009 in MTB beginners
I'm new to MTBing, my fella got me into it a few months back and i've been pottering along ever since, nothing too interesting i'm still keeping mainly to cycle paths and flat bits at the moment. I do have a female friendly bike.

But ( mind the pun) my backside is still bleedin sore, the OH keeps telling me to keep riding through it and it'll get better...when?

We're due to do the C2C in a few weeks and the only bit i'm worried about is having a really sore backside!

Comments

• supertwisted
    supertwisted Posts: 565
    Bum pain goes away quicker than you expect. I used to get it after a relatively short ride, but nowadays I can do 4hr jaunts with no discomfort.

That said, your posture on the bike and the saddle can play a part, so make sure you're comfortable with your riding position and give some thought to how supportive the saddle is and whether it needs any adjustment. There are some good articles on saddle adjustment, but I forget where I found them i'm afraid.

Out of interest do you sit quite upright while riding? Leaning slightly forward and supporting some of your weight with your arms will reduce the strain on your bum and will make is easier to soak up bumps in the road.
    Less internal organs, same supertwisted great taste.
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    pedal harder so you're supporting your weight with your legs rather than your bum! Added bonus is that you'll be a lot faster! 8)

Have you got padded shorts?

I would pop along to your lbs and get them to cast an eye over you on the bike, it could be the saddle just doesn't suit you. Are you sitting on your sit-bones or on the fleshy bits? It could be the saddle isn't the right width for you as well. Whereabouts are you getting the pain?
  • Max A
    supertwisted - Thanks.

4 hours of pain free riding sounds bliss!