tips for a long ride?

Skippy2309
Skippy2309 Posts: 426
edited July 2009 in MTB rides
I am still pretty new to the riding (now using my bike for commuting) have fitted nigh on slick tires, its now a very quick commute (varies from 25-30miles round trip)

I am planning to do a ride which for me is a long one, google puts the distance at just shy of 100miles, I am planning on doing this ride at the end of the month right after my graduation. so on the 1st of august.

I am basically going from my home to my grandparents, may have the missus drive me home after unless I feel good enough to ride home the next day.

So the question is what do you think I will need to take with me?

So far I am thinking, Pump, innertube, Water and food.

Any tips for such a long ride.
FCN: 5/6 Fixed Gear (quite rapid) in normal clothes and clips :D

Cannondale CAAD9 / Mongoose Maurice (heavily modified)

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    take some of those nergy gell things, just in case you get the shakes.
    Last time I did a long distance ride it was only about 50 miles or so, but it did include the Snowdon pass amongst some other killer climbs. I had some bananas and mars bars with me, but I was a wreck when I got home, and my leg muscles were shivering. I really wish I'd have got some energy gell to take with me.
    Oh, and take a metric fuckton of water, preferably in a camelback, half-filled with ice-cubes.

(roadies will probably be laughing at our "puny" attempts at 'long distance')
  • MilesXC
    MilesXC Posts: 40
    I'd def look into yer fuel... banana, flapjacks, water etc. It can make such a difference.
    On my rides (Road or Trail) I always make sure I carry...
    Multitool, Mobile, 2 x Innertubes, Pump, Tyre levers, Zip ties, Spare chain links, a bit of money, Map, Buff and lightweight waterproof.
    By no means an endless list.
    Have a safe ride! :D
  • mingmong
    mingmong Posts: 542