A cleaner race?

dougzz
dougzz Posts: 1,833
edited July 2009 in Pro race
Feel free to rip this to shreds. I'm relatively new to seriously watching cycling as opposed to just catching a couple of TDF stages as en 'event'

A while back I asked why serious GC people didn't attack on the flat, and the basic answer was impossible to build a worthwhile gap. I think it was a couple of years ago around the time Vino put Astana on the front in a headwind to try and make up the time he'd lost crashing prior to being kicked out anyway. If I remember right the only cyclist of note they actually dropped was Christophe Moreau.

Anyway, I wondered what the view was generally of yesterday's THR driven break, essentially putting 40+ seconds into Evans, Dirtie Bertie, Sastre, Schleck and most of the serious GC contenders. Is that evidence that in general the peloton couldn't follow because Saxo, Astana and Silence-Lotto didn't have the manpower to get them back, is it a sign that domestiques don't have they 'energy' they once did. Or is it just a screw up by 'The Heads of State' (God bless Phil and Paul) of the TDF.

Lastly why in general are THR and Garmin regarded as being above doping? Hincapie and Vandevede where both US Postal guys, Cav keeps winning in a way that makes the others look beyond useless, and based on yesterday THR must have had their collective weetabix.

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    dougzz wrote:

Lastly why in general are THR and Garmin regarded as being above doping? Hincapie and Vandevede where both US Postal guys, Cav keeps winning in a way that makes the others look beyond useless, and based on yesterday THR must have had their collective weetabix.

High ROad and Garmin both run a pretty serious internal anti-doping program. I believe it's considered in the business to be above-board and run with integrity.
  • Kléber
    Kléber Posts: 6,842