Tip for beginners

kryptonick
kryptonick Posts: 48
edited July 2009 in MTB beginners
I've only been out riding properly twice now (Glentress and Blairadam) and as a beginner I just want to say 1 thing.

I was up at Blairadam and hit a jump a little too fast, fell off and landed on my head. It was actually really funny, my friend and I had a great laugh about it, but looking back I realise that the helmet saved me from a nasty cut/bump/concussion.

Wear a helmet.

Comments

• JAKBLADE
    JAKBLADE Posts: 336
    edited July 2009
    Totally agree with you there. The first thing the Paramedics said to me when picking me up off the floor after a Taxi had run me down in the "sorry mate I didn't see you" scenario was "Where's your helmet???" Had a nasty bump on head to go along with fractured cocxyx. Doc's at hospital said I was very lucky..........Have worn a helmet ever since.....

Moral......as above Always wear a helmet........
    Project Finished....On-one Inbred..
    Specialized Hardrock A1 Comp FS(1999-2000)
    Carrera Subway 2 (for work)
    Hoffman BMX (please don't hold this one against me!!)
  • elPedro666
    elPedro666 Posts: 1,060
    Ages ago, racing pursuit, my friend went down on the concrete banking at about 30mph and we collected 13 pieces of his helmet...

Fifteen minutes later he was up and racing again - and the git still beat me!

Had another clubmate take a gentle, slow-speed tumble with an old leather strap style 'helmet' and months afterwards still couldn't recognise his parents when they visited him in hospital.

I'm a great believer in free choice, but you'd have to be a special kind of imbecile not to be wearing a quality, well-fitting helmet!

[/sanctimony]
    WTD:
    Green Halo TwinRail
    25.0mm-26.2mm seatpost shim
    Red X-Lite bling
    Specialized ladies BG saddle (white?) 155mm
    RH thumbie
    700x28c CX tyres&tubs
    Flatbars 620mm 25,4mm & swept, ti in an ideal world
  • Mr Wu
    Mr Wu Posts: 1,238