First ride on the Allez Elite

Surf-Matt
Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
As in my other thread, got an Allez Elite (Spesh) yesterday.

It's the 2010 model and the same as the 2009 Sport (odd marketing there!).

I'm a TOTAL roadie newbie -haven't ridden one since they had friction gears on the downtube.

Takes some getting used to (an XC MTBer usually) but I love it! Pretty twitchy, every bump kills you but it goes like merde off a shovel! Also weighs naff all - my MTB is pretty light (around 23lbs) but this makes it feel like a steel Halfords special!

Wife and I (handily the same size) are going to share it - she'll use it for tris that need a road bike, I'll ride the MTB on slicks but get another one if needed.

I have nothing to compare the bike to (except the base model test rode) - brakes are better than expected, I love the gears (the bike has full Tiagra - any good?)- nice and precise, the saddle is very comfy and it looks great in bright red.

We now have four Specialized bikes!

Comments

• Surf-Matt
    I wasn't keen on the Sora shifters - just seemed a bit non intuitive and "in the way"

I'm guessing it's the road equivalent of Deore for MTBs?

Usual terrible pic taking but here it is:

P1000464.jpg
  • Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    That looks great, I didn't like the look of it in the catalogue, but there it looks really nice.

needs more reflectors though :D
  • Surf-Matt
    Mrs Matt won't let me take them off - she's convinced I'll die (or she will) without them :oops: :lol::lol:

I managed to sneak the front light one off though... And took off the stupid plastic thing behind the cassette.

Just fitted a little Cateye Strada computer so will be able to tell how fast it goes on the next ride :D
  • is that the tricross which can be used road/offroad/tracks etc?
    My father's name was Antonio Andolini... and this is for you.
  • Surf-Matt
    Nope - the tricross has fatter tyres and is a bit heavier.