Revell Romany

+paul
+paul Posts: 60
edited February 2010 in Road general
I used to do a lot of cycling as a teenager and into my early twenties. All non competitive - generally going out for the day, and doing some touring/camping. I started with a Galaxy, but after the frame cracked, I bought a Revell Romany Frame (531st tubing) and kitted it out with mid range equipment (I was a student at the time!).

I got back on a bike last year as a result of the Cycle to Work scheme, buying a Trek 6700 hardtale. I have had some great off road riding on it, as well as using it for commuting. However, having seen the Sportive setting off the weekend before last in Abergavenny, I decided it would be fun to give it a go. This weekend gone I retrieved my Romany from the cellar where it has languished for years, and stripped it down. It is complete and in good order (after cleaning and re-greasing), with the exception of:
- Wheels, tyres etc
- Saddle
- Pedals

The saddle and pedals are no problem, but I think the wheels may be a bigger issue. I have friction levers on the gears, and I still have the original 5 speed rear casette (screw on). Modern wheels seem to come with 7 speed minimum at the rear - how easy will shifting be without index gearing? Is there any where where I can buy some 700c wheels of a similar vintage?

Am I wasting my time? I have done more than 100 miles in a day on this bike, so it can't be that bad (not sure I am so fit any more :-(! ). I thought I could give it a go with this, then if I enjoy it enough and decide to do more, then I can commit to a new road bike.

What do you think?

Comments

• GaryGkn
    GaryGkn Posts: 1,199