Upgrade or replace the AT10

synthasandwich
synthasandwich Posts: 38
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi All,

Firstly, thanks for reading- genuinly need some advice and I couldn't find it in the search options.

I am new to mountian biking and have been riding an entry level Raleigh AT10 for about 6 months. I really enjoy this new hobby but am unsure whether to upgrade the parts or to just get a new bike- either way, I can only ever see my budget being £350 max.....

Problems with the current AT10 are the front suspension doesn't take much hammer, gears could be better...... overall the bike seems quite heavy too so was gradually going to replace with lighter parts.

Any advice? I generally ride off road on hardcore trails with occasional lump obstacle that has been giving my current suspension grief.

Cheers

Comments

• Si78
    Si78 Posts: 963
    Hi and Welcome :D

Personally, I would save up the pennies and buy a new bike.

Ride the Raleigh until it dies, then spend ur cash on a new, lighter bike.

Some of the Carreras and GTs at Halfords are good bikes, and often have offers on them.
    Why has my sig been removed by the admins???
  • Hi Si78,

cheers for the warm welcome and speedy response...

I had the gut feeling I should save for my next bike, my main fear was that the frame itself as well as everything else around it weighed a ton but it's been good to sample Mountain bike riding.

Suprised that Halfords are cropping up quite a lot in this forum, a lot of their lines for cars are a rip off but will definitely have a look at the bikes suggested and compare with reviews.

Anyone want to suggest/ guess a rough weight for a good £300 mountain bike for comparison.

Thanks again everyone,

Mark .
  • Flenser
    Flenser Posts: 372
    The Commencal Normal Disc is currently on sale at Merlin Cycles, £500 reduced to £350.

http://www.merlincycles.co.uk/custom-mo ... -2009.html