Rocky Mountain? What are they like?

wrx
wrx Posts: 27
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
Hey guys - first post.....newbie here.

Quite new to the sport, used to BMX in the woods when I was a kid, now 33 need to get fit and lose the beer gut. Borrowed by brothers old Claud Butler for a while and loved it.

I have my eye on a Rocky Mountain Vertex 10. Guy in the shop obviously rated it highly, but I dont see too many reviews online.

Any comments on RM bikes?

Cheers!

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Hand built, hand painted and VERY expensive for what they are. They're generally good bikes but vastly over-priced for what they are.

There's definitely better value out there.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • wrx
    edited June 2009
    Thanks for the reply......

Hand built and hand painted - sounds good to me.

Its through the cycle scheme, and after trying a Gary Fisher hoo koo e koo, and a Kona Cinder Cone and then Caldera, the RM seemed to be really nice, almost "the one".

Problem was the LBS with the Caldera were a bit pants in the service with a smile department and generally seemed to not give a hoot, whereas the LBS with the RM were great, great service, good test of the bike outside etc and had loads of time for my stupid newbie questions.

It is discounted by £100 - at least thats something.
  • wrx
    Anyone else have an opinion on Rocky Mountain bikes?

Interested to hear comments, if you've owned or tried them out.

Thanks......
  • I love my Element 70, handles like a dream.
    Yes, they are comparatively expensive - but you do get a 5 year frame guarantee. The quality of the welding/tubing/painting means that Rocky stand by their products.
    Shop around, there are good deals out there.

Brad
    2016 Giant Defy Advanced Pro 0
    2012 Scott Foil 40
    2009 Spesh Allez Elite
    2005 Rocky Mountain Element 70
  • wrx
    Hey thanks for the reply - Nice Bike !