How much bike is enough bike?

alomac
alomac Posts: 189
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner shopping for his first mountain bike, and doing it on a student budget. I'm having trouble deciding what to get, though, because I keep getting different information on how much bike is 'enough.'

I'm leaning towards the Giant's £260 Boulder, or maybe the Boulder Disc if the mechanical discs are worth the extra money. It's listed in the forum stickies as a pretty good buy. On the other hand, the current (July 2009) What Mountain Bike says that sub-£300 bikes are really only suitable for 'road and gentle trails' being 'weighty and compromised by parts that are not well suited to the demands of off-road rides'.

I don't know - what do you guys think?

For what it's worth, I'm mainly looking for:
* Durability and reliability. The ability to withstand what I'm sure will be my clumsy and ham-fisted attempts to learn bunnyhops and so on.
* Poise and handling: basically confidence. The ability to ride, learn and experiment without having to worry about the bike (skittishness etc.). I suppose this also goes towards reliability to some extent, particularly in the case of brakes, for example.
* The ability to grow with me. Because I'm on a student budget, I imagine that I'll be using this bike for at least three years, but probably closer to five. I'm sure I'll do some upgrades in that time, but my budget will limit how many, and I understand it's usually cheaper to buy the components with the bike.

In terms of riding conditions, I'm spending this year in Sweden so I'm looking at wet and muddy. Another issue What Mountain Bike raises with sub-£300 bikes is that the forks 'typically' ingest crud in these conditions and size. Home is the southern coast of Australia which has similar conditions, assuming the drought ever breaks.