France to Spain cycling holiday - what kit?

tomo13
tomo13 Posts: 7
edited June 2009 in Tour & expedition
Hi,

I am planning on joining my friends on a two week cycling holiday down to Spain. I've never done touring before so would like some advice. I have a Giant Defy 2 road bike.
1. Will this bike be OK to tour with?
2. Can you recommend the kit I will need to take [we are camping/ B&B so I'll need to carry everything on the bike. The frame will take a pannier rack. My budget is tight so I'll need resonably priced kit. I've already purchased an ultralite sleeping bag and 3/4 matt.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• 1footedninja
    1footedninja Posts: 269
    http://www.bikebins.com/

They are built really nice and so good as a rigid bag, easy to strap stuff onto and best bit you can just leave on your bike and put a lock thru them and your rack, then lock em and will deter potential robbers. Ok they add a little weight but I weighed them and my soft pannier bags and give or take they was about the same, weightwise.

If you can get some of that water stuff that puts electrolytes back in your system, you can buy a little bottle of the stuff then just add a few drops when you need it, should keep you on top of things.

a good set of waterproofs helps.

take some euros with you.

plastic bags as well, use em for lots of stuff, from waterproofing stuff, to making rope.

have a gud un
    'since the flaming telly's been taken away, we don't even know if the Queen of Englands gone off with the dustman'.
    Lizzie Birdsworth, Episode 64, Prisoner Cell Block H.
  • rjh299
    rjh299 Posts: 721