Bike Questions: XC vs AM

schlange
schlange Posts: 11
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
I am new to mtb and still searching for the right bike. I used to do road cycling, but want to move into more natural and fun areas :)

I am still confused by the different types of bikes and the types of riding they are designed for. Thus, I want to get some clarity around that before I buy the wrong bike.
I live in Switzerland and I believe the type of riding I will do is:

* Trails in various mountains and hills here
* Longer multi-day tours on national and regional mtb rodes (I can virtually go via bike from Switzerland to and EU country - France, Germany, Austria, etc) - all on well known trails over the Alps or around as I wish.
* Climbing on trails in the Alps and some safer downhill riding (if you go up, you need to come down) - but nothing like a kamikaze rider dropping 6 feet off cliffs.

I know that a downhill bike is not what I need, but what are these other type bikes designed for: All Mountain, XC, Enduro, Race, Free Ride? I guess each bike has different geometry, weight, and performance characteristics. So it is probably worth getting the right bike for what I want to do.

How much travel in front and rear would be minimum and optimum for my riding? I thought more was always better, but is that really the case?

Comments

• Jonesy.
    Jonesy. Posts: 94
    Sounds like you have some great riding territory!

Your question depends on your budget. Good full-suspension 'all-mountain' bikes start at around £1500. If you can't afford this, you may be better going down the hardtail (front suspension) route, as you can get a pretty decent ride for under £1000. Or, you may want to start off with a cheaper bike in case you find mountain biking less enjoyable than road riding (but that's very unlikely :) ).

If you go the hardtail route, I would get something with short-travel forks (up to 100mm), as these will be better for climbing, and certainly ample for long down hills.