i'm new to this....

andy46
andy46 Posts: 1,666
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
hello everyone, i've just got into mtbs just over a year ago as i never learnt to ride a bike as a kid :oops: (mind you through no fault of my own) some lads at work got me interested so i thought i'd give it a go and got myself a cheap hardtail. However i've been bitten by the bug and have just got myself a scott spark. Now i always ride on my own but the lads where i work want me to go with them to dalby or some other trail centre during the summer months, however they don't know just how "new" to this i am. if i decide to go do you think that i would be biting off more than i could chew and risk looking an idiot because i know that they are a bunch of good riders and are always on about this red route and that black route. I ride to work some days and i'm quite confident on the road and i am quite fit it's just i don't know what to expect, any advice would be really appreciated, thank you.
2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4

2014 Specialized Allez Sport

Comments

• Banned!
    Banned! Posts: 34
    tell them.

sorted.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Dalby Red is a long, but fairly tame course.
  • andy46
    tell them.

sorted.
    would you want a newbie slowing you down. i ride for fun :D but these guys take it pretty serious.
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If they ask you along, then complain, then they are not very good riding companions really! Go at your own pace - they should wait where applicable.
  • Banned!
    Banned! Posts: 34
    say this;

guys, Ive not been riding long and Im not comfortable with this trail. if you feel I will slow you down then go on without me or go at my pace. I would prefer it if at least one of you stayed with me, but the rest of you dont have to. thanks,
  • keirtristan
    keirtristan Posts: 296