1200Mile (roughly) round trip?

MajorPayne
MajorPayne Posts: 100
edited July 2009 in Tour & expedition
Heya all,

This is a slightly weird thread, I'm new to road cycling, completely new to touring on said machines too. I'm fairly fit though (ex-armed forces, currently TA part-time) but really I'm out of work and unwaged.

The whole plan in action started when my Girlfriend who's studying at uni got an elective placement in europe, so 10 weeks alone, not really much in the way of funds.

I've come up with the plan I could quite happily bike from the UK into a ferry £30 to the hook of Holland, drive through Holland, Germany and up into Denmark where by I can stay for a few weeks before coming back the same way I first started out.

I've planned on maps.google the route from my house to Harwich where I will be getting on the ferry works out about just over 100miles, when I get into Europe I've about another 530miles to cover. if allowing I could upload the links for you all to see, of which I will add them in at the bottom of this post.

With my past army experience and current weekend warrior TA knowledge I do understand travelling alone is not the best thing to be doing. I'm also not sure about stopping at night just either by the side of the road or a few meters so I'm out of sight from the road in a tent for 8 hours sleep with the normal camping equipment food and medical supplies.

I'm currently buying a Carrera Racing bike off eBay and the auction ends in a few days, I've also just brought a bike trailer on eBay too, the tent and equipment for eating, warmth, washing would not come anything near £100 on top of that.