Which bike do I buy? Advice please...

tuff1986
tuff1986 Posts: 7
edited June 2009 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I have been riding mountain bikes regularly for almost 4 years and have decided now is the time to get myself a road bike as well! Although this will be my first road bike, I am still looking to spend a fair bit of money on one as I always believe a better machine will benefit me in the future. So far I have been looking at the following bikes:

Orbea Onix 2009
Specialized Tarmac (Comp or Expert) 2009
Specialized Roubaix (Comp or Expert) 2009
Trek Madone 4.5 2009

If anyone has any other suggestions please let me know.

I wont be entering any races in the near future but I want a bike that I will want to ride time and time again and something that feels that little bit special. I expect to cover alot of miles so I dont know if that helps with the decision?

Please let me know what you think and hopefully it can help me come to a decision so I can get out riding as soon as possible!

Many thanks,

Paul

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Welcome to the forum!

Get to your local bike shops and ride what they have, get a feel for what you prefer. Decide which shop offers the best service and let that influence your decision.

The Trek will probably be best out of those for longer rides as it is a very comfortable frame. IMO of course.

If you wait a few weeks the 2010 models will be out so deals can be had on 09s.

(Cue a queue of Specialized and Orbea fans raving about how good their own bikes are and that you should choose them because they did. I don't have a trek by the way...)
  • tuff1986