Specialized S-Works M5 HT

DiscoStu73
DiscoStu73 Posts: 100
edited May 2009 in Your mountain bikes
I'm new to this biking lark but managed to land myself a bargain 'first' bike from my local free-ads paper.

M5.jpg
M52.jpg

Specialized S-Works M5 HT 2005 frame
Rock Shox SID Team fork
Specialized body geometry saddle
Thompson elite seatpost
Specialized seatpost clamp
X-lite bars
Thompson elite stem
Can Creek s1 headset
SRAM 9.0 esp shifters
Hope mono mini hydraulic brake set
Hope hubs
Mavic 717 disc rims
Deore LX crank
Deore XT front mech
SRAM esp rear mech
Shimano rear cassette
Panaracer fire xc pro tyres

Weighs in at 10.8kg!
It's a mental bike for what I paid for it, I just have to justify having it by actually leaving the house...

Comments

• Tim.s
    Tim.s Posts: 515
    Go on then, hurt me, how much?
    "Didn't hurt"
  • DiscoStu73
    Well, I was looking at 3 new bikes around the £500 price mark before I bought this.
    And this was a lot less.

Is you a-hurting?
  • Tim.s
    Meh, im glad for you, nice to see someone get a barguin. 8)

Im looking for a nippy hardtail and would of snapped that up like you did. I'd love an M5 spesh, was looking at the new Stumpy hardtail at the weekend and very nearly put my money down as a deposit on that but its a bit light and fragile for me, the older ones seem to have more substance to them.
    "Didn't hurt"
  • DiscoStu73
    Given that I lack experience, I would have been happy with one of the new £500 bikes that was on my list. I was probably going to get the Giant XTC4 but I did also try the Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc and it felt really good.
    I would have upgraded or replaced that bike in the next year or two as I progress, so I'm obviously delighted that I won't have to do that now, as long as I don't do anything stupid on this one!
  • Tim.s
    They are a world apart, consider that the new Stumpy HT comp is £1400 so yours would of been a similar price in its day.