Complete noob with ridiculously overspecced first bike!

DiscoStu73
DiscoStu73 Posts: 100
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
That'll be me then :D

I was going to buy my first 'proper' bike and could stretch to the £500 area. I had my options down to the Giant XTC4, Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc and the GT Avalanche 1.0. I thought I had it sorted out and I was going to go for the Giant, but then this appeared in my free-ads paper:

M5.jpg
M52.jpg

2005 Specialized S-Works M5 HT frameset with top spec bits n bobs. All in fantastic condition except the lockout lever on the fork, but that should be a cheap enough fix.
Got it for a lot less than the ones I was looking at, and the spec is mental!

Beers are on me!

Comments

• Mickey Eye
    Mickey Eye Posts: 590
    That's an ace find. But I'd change those pedals to either proper flats or clipless before you break your ankles.
  • DiscoStu73
    Yeah, there's a couple of tweaks on the cards. Change the pedals and fix the lockout lever for a start, and possibly change the gripshifts if I don't get on with them and maybe also a riser bar instead of the flat.
    The guy I bought it from gave me the Crank Brothers Egg Beater pedals that he'd never gotten on with, so I have a clipless option although Shimano SPD seems to be the favourite of all my mates. Like I say, I'm new to all this and I'm in specification overload just now! I'm going to stick with flats until I'm confident on the bike.
  • Mickey Eye
    I'm just jealous mate. I never find any bargains, that and Norway gets stiffed on prices as well.
  • DiscoStu73
    I'm chuffed that you like it! I took a bit of a chance as I didn't really know what to look for when I went to see it, and it was a 3-hour round trip. I got it home and had to get my mate to check it over cos he knows exactly what he's talking about when it comes to bikes. He just grinned and said "well done"!