Building a skills course at my school

dazzerus
dazzerus Posts: 29
edited May 2009 in Routes
I am putting mountain biking onto my PE curriculum at the school i am Head of PE at in Hull. I have got an area roughly 100m2 in area. I want to put in some moguls, jumps, drop offs, raised wooden track pieces etc. Anyone ever done this sort of thing before who can give me any tips or advice or contacts?
Cannondale F4
Specialized Allez

Comments

• nonnac85
    nonnac85 Posts: 1,608
    I went to Shugborough outdoor activity centre (I am a yr 6 teacher). They had a small skills area with a seesaw built over an old oil drum type thing, a shallow pit with a plank about 2-3m long for balance, a couple of berms and about a 40cm drop off. There were a few other bits too.

Contact info HERE
    My Website - Trail Centre info for the UK: MTB Trail Time
  • deadliest
    deadliest Posts: 471
    CAN I COME BACK TO SCHOOL :D
    Bikes are drugs and Im pedalling

http://sherwoodpines.yolasite.com/
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    See saw: I went over one of these built over a fallen tree trunk in Ashton Court some years ago. All the kids were having a great time, so I followed. Unfortunately the plank had moved a bit and didn't drop as I got to the other end, I rode straight off the end and face planted from about 2 metres! It was a bloody affair but caused great amusement to all :oops:

I made a bloody, hasty and embarrassed exit!
  • dazzerus
    thanks alot for the info
    great i will give them a ring and see what they say.
    Cannondale F4
    Specialized Allez
  • ooo a school with no health and safety officer? interesting!!
  • dazzerus
    sadly we do hence the research, would have had it sorted by now if not for the red tape of the H&S brigade. saying that its no more than doing rugby etc interms of potential dangers.
    Cannondale F4
    Specialized Allez
  • p.fitz
    p.fitz Posts: 66