MTB Bikes suitable for Touring

gorillapower
gorillapower Posts: 8
edited May 2009 in Tour & expedition
Hi Guys,

I am about to start off on my first bicycle tour, in all honestly I havn't gone more than 20km on a bike! So I all ready to start my first tour ;- )

Its going to be a long one, I want to stay on the road for atleast 2months. But obviously as I am new to the bicycle touring, I dont have the experience to notice a good deal or a quality buy so I hope you guys can help.

I have scoured the internet for adventure cycling tips and guides and was told that to go touring on the cheap I should convert a MT Bike - namely a Trek, Cannondale, Dawes, etc. So I have bid on ebay for this bike
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330328955743&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:GB:1123 Its a Marin Lite Eldridge Grade about 10 years old and at the moment seems to be at a reasonable price (£113)

What do you think the maximum price for this should be? I thought £250. And could this bike endure a long tour? I'm not looking for anything fancy, just something that will do the job, a trusty steed rather than a supercar.

Thanks for your time, any suggestions would be welcome. What I really want to do is to prevent getting ripped off or doing something amateurish.

Regards,

Martin

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I wouldn't pay £250 for that! I'd say that its price now (£113) is probably what its worth, but old steel mtbs are trendy these days so they do go for silly money on ebay. Saying that, the bike would probably do, but without knowing what sort of condition the wheels, gears, etc. are in its impossible to say whether or not it'd do for a long tour.

A quick look on ebay brought up these:

Trek 830 for buy-it-now for only £75 (220414294849)
    GT buy-it-now only £109.95 (270390841846 )
    Nice looking steel Raleigh currently at £7.24 (360153877703)
    Scott Summit frame plus some bits currently at £25(140319142370)