Sore bits

stevepj
stevepj Posts: 38
edited May 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,

I've been riding twice a week for about 4 months and to put it bluntly......it bloody hurts!! It's getting to the point where within about 5 minutes of the ride i'm in agony and really feel like giving up.

When i go out i wear a pair of padded shorts (bought cheap from Tesco's) with something under them and a pair of baggys on top, i also have 2 gel pads on top of my existing saddle.

Can somebody give advice on a new (comfy) saddle and the best sort of garments to wear, i really don't want to stop but it's hurting!!

Cheers
Why are all the parts i've upgraded on my bike, now standard on the latest model!!

Comments

• Ditch Witch
    Ditch Witch Posts: 837
    Oh man, seat ache sucks.

Seats are so personal that you really need to try some out. I went through about 5 (based on recommendations) until I found one I liked.

It'd be worth investing in better shorts, too, but the seat will make all the difference in the world. Don't worry, you'll find the right one.

Some shops can measure you for a seat. Ask at your LBS.
    I ride like a girl
    Start: 16.5.x Now: 14.10.8 Goal: 11.7.x
    www.ditchwitch.me.uk
    www.darksnow.co.uk
    Specialized HardRock Pro Disc 04
  • mrdales
    mrdales Posts: 23
    Firstly I'd suggest not wearing anything under your cycle shorts and maybe invest in a slightly better quality pair.

Secondly check your set up - seat height and angle etc.

What kind of riding are you doing?
    Scott Genius MC30
    Orange Crush
    Giant SCR1.5
    A worn out Cannondale Super V500 for the shops
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    edited May 2009
    Lose the gel pads and underwear - a lightly padded saddle with springy rails will be much more comfortable. The Charge Spoon is only £20 and works for a lot people. The Ti version is £35.
  • mrdales
    +1 for the charge spoon. I've got one and its a bargain.
    Scott Genius MC30
    Orange Crush
    Giant SCR1.5