Thankfully I'm not getting paid to make this decision

handstand
handstand Posts: 2
edited May 2009 in Road buying advice
Hello all. I'm a road newbie to be. I'm down to 3 bikes and am looking for someone to sway the vote. Colnago CXL, Centuar groupset; CX-1, Chorus groupset; Pinarello FP3, Dura-Ace (7800) groupset. Looking for balance of comfort and speed. No century rides in the near future, probably starting off at around 35 mile rides. I live in a very hilly area so a bike that can "help me' climb is an asset. Any thoughts..advice...before I self destruct. thanks.[/list]

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Cx-1, absolutely.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    CX1 and Chorus.
  • markos1963
    markos1963 Posts: 3,724
    If you're gonna do a lot of climbing how about an Orbea Orca with Ultegra from Epic
  • rjh299
    rjh299 Posts: 721
    ^^^Get the Orca. It's a work of art :D
    But if your set on one of the others, i say the Colnago.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    As you are new to this - I wouldnt spend too much - maybe go cheaper and you'll get 90% of the performance for 30% of the price. That way - if you decide its not for you - you've only lost a bit of money rather than a grand or so ?

DA isnt any faster or comfier than 105 and I fear you may be heading into racing territory which may be a bit too extreme for you at the moment.

If its very hilly - you may want to think about a triple chainset or a compact - but that also depends on how you climb.

Have fun !
  • sturmey
    sturmey Posts: 964
    Got to agree with Cougie. You don't need such an expensive bike and in my opinion you would be better off with something up to the £800 mark. You will pay over twice that for what you are after and that is a waste right now in your situation.