Already bought a bike, but...

diamondbacker
diamondbacker Posts: 224
edited May 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi, I'm very new to this MTB lark particularly as I'm 31 (too old?) and have bought a bike almost on a whim. I was after a relatively cheap bike and having looked at the halfords cheapies quickly decided a better second hand one would be a better bet.

Anyway, I bought a Diamondback s20 (about 2 or 3 years old) and quite enjoy it. However I'm not sure how good/bad a bike this is for a beginner as reviews seem to be thin and far between. I paid £100 and despite a few scratches (to be expected) it works great.

Also, my wifes thinking of joining me so we are after a new bike. Second hand maybe an option again but Muddyfox seem to have bikes (hardtails for around the £200 mark) that are tempting. Is there any reason not to get one or are they ok? The carrera bikes also seem quite tempting (despite the service/staff/reputation).

I really am enjoying myself on the bike so hopefully this will be the start of an enjoyable activity for years to come.
Thanks for any help and advice

Comments

• noodleman
    noodleman Posts: 852
    Its been said before and often started arguments, but if your buying new and want a bike capable of proper off road riding, you want to be spending around £500.00 as this will give you (your wife) a bike thats up to the job and will last more than five minutes. Thats presuming you are actually going to be using the bike as it's intended to be used. However if it's just cycle paths and canal paths your wife will be riding then get her a cheapie and maybe spend more if she really gets into it and fancies proper off road riding, thats what i did and my wife now loves her bike and appreciates it's quality over her first bike.