Merida MTB Marathons

jamLCFC
jamLCFC Posts: 197
edited May 2009 in XC and Enduro
Firstly apologies if this is covered else where... if thats the case i have looked and been unable to find it.

I assume that someone has done or is doing these events and i would like to know what they are like.I am sure that these events are great fun and i would like to give it a go but i do need some idea of what the reality of these type of events is.

In your experience:

What would the minimum bike spec be?
What would the minimum skill level be for the XC?
What would you think the minimum fitness levels would be?
What advice would you give to a complete novice?
What is the most important thing that i should consider before entering?

Many Thanks for your time :P

...............................................................................................................................
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Compulsive tinkerer....my ideas far far outway my ability and that makes things costly !!

Comments

• minimum bike spec; I've seen (and been beaten by) people on fully rigid single speeds.

minimum skill level; Nothing too technical. There might be a few short , steep drops. Just get off and walk down if you're not confident.

minimum fitness levels; 50km with a fair bit of climbing so you will need some fitness.

advice for a complete novice; You're not going to win. Just have some fun and gain some experience for the next one.

the most important thing that i should consider before entering; Prepare your bike, new chain and new pads if they are in any doubt. Take enough food & drink for 4 hours riding. Spare tubes & patches etc. Pace yourself, don't chase the fast guys. 50km over a mountain is a long way. Just plod on, nice & steady.
    I am a mountain biking god.
    Unfortunately, my bike's an atheist.
  • 320DMsport
    320DMsport Posts: 306