Assembling a bike - who should I get to do it?

belter
belter Posts: 57
edited May 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,
Getting a bike through halfords c2w scheme from a supplier which is being delivered to my local Halfords.

I assume it will come needing to be assembled but I have heard bad things about Halfords assembling bikes and have even read sometimes they have been assembled dangerously.

Being a complete beginner, should I let Halfords assemble the bike for me for free or should I get it done elsewhere?

Would LBS do it even though I haven't purchased the bike from them?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    what is the bike?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • let halfords do it and just check that bolts are tightened. all they do is put the bars on and the wheels in the dropouts. oh and fit the pedals.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    let halfords do it then take it to a local bike shop and ask them to check it.
  • belter
    cheers its a specialized rockhopper
  • thomasali
    thomasali Posts: 179
    Which Halfords are you using? Some are great but most are crap. That being said many many LBS / independent bike shops are no better! Make sure they tension the spokes and tighten the cranks, the rest is pretty easy and they shouldnt mess it up. Oh and ask them if they pre-stretched your cables too, and make sure you get your free 6 week service.

PS one the Specialized boxes it says the warranty is void if it isnt assembled by a official Specialized dealer.
  • Si78
    Si78 Posts: 963
    Halfords assembled my Boardman. I only found 1 loose bolt :roll:

Si
    Why has my sig been removed by the admins???
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Make sure you check it out thoroughly before you leave the store. If there's anything youa ren't happy about, make sure they address it while you're there.