Incoming Newbie!

The Rookie
The Rookie Posts: 27,812
edited May 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi to all, please be gentle on a 42yo oldie....

Just taken up cycling as my fitness levels are dropping too fast, and with a competative near 16yo daughter I need to be able to keep up!

I have built up a mountain bike (more as a hybrid) using a Giant Rincon frame (XL-22" so too big for proper offroading for me at 5'9.5"!) from my local recycling centre (spec below) and am planning on commuting and doing light trail work with it (I've bought a Carrera Kraken frame to build up as a more off road suitable bike. I need to keep up with the daughter on her (cheap at £80 but fairly light and well built (and high spec in places like the Deore brakes) and proving very relaible so far) Shogun Jackel

Being an engineer (automotive by trade) I have really enjoyed building te bike from scratch, using bits from the recycling centre, an old cheap bike and bits scavanged from ebay and woolies as it was closing down, and it currently stands me less than £60 (after selling on bits I didn't need).

Giant Rincon XL frame with Suntour NCX (lightweight with Magnesium lower, it has a preload adjustable coil and adjustable with lockout compression damping) forks, 21 speed with Shimano combined (ratchet shift) levers on CBR bars, DDG short stem (I have dodgy wrists and have to sit upright-ish), Schumann/Quando front wheel with semi-slick for touring, Mavic/Hope with panaracer FireX for dirt, braked by a Zoom (Woolies) mechanical calliper (Vuelta waiting to go on when I have 180mm discs), SIS front mech and Alivio rear driving Mavic/STX rear wheel with a hybrid tyre or a CTC/hope rear with a Kenda Kwick for dirt, saddle is from a diamondback on a thomson elite stem, no name clamp, cranks and BB are original Giant and currently running Woolies pedals, pairof Saracen takeoffs are in hand when I can get one out of its crank!