New to MTB - quick disc brake/gears question

daverey
daverey Posts: 49
edited April 2009 in MTB beginners
Morning All

I'm brand new to MTB and at the weekend picked up a GT Avalance 3.0 Disc 09 for me, and a Specialized Myka HT Sport Disc 09 for the missus. Incidentally, both bikes appear to be tremendous for the money and for what we need, and we even managed a very short, but gruelling, off-road loop in the peak district yesterday on them.

Anyway....

Both bikes come with presumably bog-standard mechanical disc brakes. Since we've had the bikes home and practiced with removing and putting the quick-release wheels on, I've noticed that on both sets of front and back wheels, when you spin the wheel there is a very slight noise which I'm sure is the brake pad rubbing slightly. If this is the case it's hardly slowing the wheels from spinning, but there is definitely contact being made somewhere.

My question - is this normal? The guy at Evans' where we bought them said it will be fine, but I just thought I'd check to make sure that other people with discs experience the same thing?

Also, another quick question - this time on gears. On the missus' bike, when she is in the very lowest (ie least resistance) gears (1 & 2 on the easier chain-ring) - there is a quiet tapping noise as she is pedalling. When she moves up the gears this noise disappears, but then comes back again when she goes back down. Again, is this "normal", or is it something that could lead to further problems.

Ta in advance
Dave

Comments

• Daz555
    Daz555 Posts: 3,976
    I tiny bit of disc rub is not uncommon before the brakes have bedded in. However, it is worth checking the wheels are properly into the dropouts and on straight. Also check that the discs do not have a wobble (warp).

If the rubbing persists then you might need to look at realigning the caliper in order to centre it properly on the disc.
    You only need two tools: WD40 and Duck Tape.