Have i bought a good bike? ( i'm not so sure)

snowballonfire
snowballonfire Posts: 7
edited June 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi
just bought a carrea vulcan disc,how do you adjust the forks so they are not so spungy the owners manual does not tell you how to do this in fact it does not tell you how to do anything, i am new to cycling and know nothing, i have turned the red and black knob on the forks but it does not seem to make any difference.,plus the gears are crap took it back to halfords after one day of use on the road, i asked the lad there how you make the forks stiffer and he said he was not familer with the bike, but i bought it there the day before,i was sreved by i different guy when i bought the bike, so he was no help, he did sort the gears out but on the way home they messed up again.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Ask the shop to provide manuals.

One knob sets the preload of the spring (ie the height/sag) the other affects the speed it rebounds.

Also check the fork guide in the Workshop section for more info.
  • Hi
    i have had a look on the halfords web site, but it does not say anything about setting your forks, it has chains tyers saddles but nothing about forks, thanks anyway.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    It won't, it doesn't make the fork - though Suntour, who does make it, has a nice website that will guide you through the functions. The model should be written on the fork.

As for your gears, sound like they need adjusting. Cables often stretch on the first ride, so tension needs reswtting.

Park Tools has a good guide on this. You need to keep the bike maintained, cleaned and lubed to get the best from it.
  • Thank you for the quick reply.
  • According to halfords I think this is your fork manual.
    http://srsuntour-files.dbap.de/_public/ ... CTV2_M.pdf
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    The Carrera Vulcan disc is a good first bike well worth the money.