Best WSD road bike for around £500 ?

vickiepsych
vickiepsych Posts: 3
edited April 2009 in Road beginners
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to road biking and want to buy a roadbike for around £500. I'm considering a WSD bike as I want something fairly compact due to a neck injury and I've got fairly long legs and short arms. Im also currently riding a mens road bike which is a bit too long - I've changed the stem but LBS told me that doing anything else to shorten the reach will make it really twitchy :shock:

I'm considering getting a Specialized Dolce, ( I've got a Specialized MTB which I love) - the most basic one is about £550. Just want some advice really - do you think this is the best buy for £500ish ?

Thanks everyone :)

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I would normally say just stick with mens bikes but as you have your neck issue that's not an option.

I don't think you can go wrong with Specialized, Trek or Bianchi but I would strongly suggest keeping an eye out for deals on last years models, you should be able to pick up a better model for the same money...

Here for example -

http://www.jejamescycles.co.uk/specialized-dolce-elite-ladies-road-bike-id40123.html
  • psychle
    psychle Posts: 83
    I always think it's a good idea to create a list of the features you want/need on a bike when shopping. We did this when shopping this year for my girlfriends first road bike. We wanted drop bars, a triple chainring, mudguard clearance and a womens specific design. This narrowed the field down to one - a Trek 1.2W for £500.
    We would have been happy to spend more and we liked the Specialized Dolce but mudguard clearance was non-existent. It was a similar story with the Giant range.

Our list of requirements made the choice quite easy and she's very happy with the Trek.

"Like a pig towing a cart-load of sausages - I draw my own conclusions"
  • micken
    micken Posts: 275