First 25 mile TT

Harry B
Harry B Posts: 1,239
edited April 2009 in Amateur race
In a couple of weeks. I've never done a TT before so it should be quite interesting. I'm not sure about pacing myself. A friend reckons I should be capable of doing it in around 1.15 but I'm not so sure. What sort of pace should I start out at? Would 20mph be a bit high (assuming no head/tail wind)?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    You can't judge it off speed whatsoever due to the number of variables such as prevailing winds, gradient etc.

A heart rate monitor is a good gauge, power is even better in my opinion.

If not you should go off 'rate of percieved exhertion'.

For a 25 you should be looking at 80-85% max HR but again this is different for everyone and HR creeps up over time after starting low.

My best suggestion is to ride for 25 miles before the event as fast as you can to get a feel for it. Preferably on the same course.
  • Harry B
    so keep the HR in around zone 4 on the Garmin?
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Yes, but remember not to start too hard though (obviously you will be quite a bit below zone 4 at the start, work up to it steadily over a few minutes).
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    NapoleonD wrote:
    Yes, but remember not to start too hard though (obviously you will be quite a bit below zone 4 at the start, work up to it steadily over a few minutes).

+1

Take it easy to start with, and build up over the first mile of so. Also when you come off the turn, don't hammer it. If you get a build up of lactate, the you will have to slow down, and it will give you a slower time.

I go by HR, but not around 80-85%, I am normally 90+% and even over 100% near the end :shock: , when I really push it (just shows you the 220-age is cr@p).

You will probably get the pacing all wrong on the first one, but once you have done a few you will get a handle on it no doubt.
  • Harry B