XC Race Tactics

rbonegio
rbonegio Posts: 14
edited April 2009 in XC and Enduro
I'm quite new to xc racing and am interested to find out what tactics people can recommend - is it really just a case of getting as far up the field before the singletrack starts, and then sticking to the wheel in front until you get the chance to pass?

I've noticed in HRM training that, by going a bit easier on the climbs and then gunning it on the flat stuff, I can still get a comparable time to when I push on the climbs, but with much less effort (ie lower average/max heart rate). Could this work in a race? Everything I read though seems to indicate that races are won and lost on the climbs.

My average HR for a 1.5hr race is about 175bpm (about 95% of my max) - totally knackering! Though is this pretty normal? If I was to do a marathon of say 75-100km, should I be aiming for a similar average or considerably less?

Any thoughts much appreciated - many thanks!

Comments

• breezer
    breezer Posts: 1,225
    Yes start near the front as its always carnage initially and even more so when you get into the 1 bike wide singletrack, worth pushing yourself a bit more than you want at the start then recover in the initial bottleneck.

Climbs are the place to gain places, especially the shorter steep ones, if you can power past someone and then keep on it when it goes flat you can pull a big gap

I average around 195bpm for my ~80 minute Gorrick races and im 32 but must have a small animals heart according to my friends, I normally max around 207 but have gone higher in the past but that normally results in blowing up!
  • stevieboy
    stevieboy Posts: 704
    Short sprints on fire-road sections always go down well. Especially if you do it sitting down.