tiagra versus 105

Iansuz
Iansuz Posts: 4
edited April 2009 in Road beginners
I am amost sold on getting a Giant Defy 1 with Shimano 105 throughout but the Defy 2 is the same but approx £200 cheaper due to using Tiagra.

Apart from the rear cassette being 9 instead the 105's 10 is there a noticeable difference worth £200? I am new to road biking and will be using for occasional commuting and triathlons.

I am interested in knowing which is best in each category
1 - shifters easiest too use
2 - derailleurs requiring less maintenance/tweaking
3 - most robust and last longest

any other advice greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    One has 10 speed and is possibly a little lighter...

That's about it for your 200 quid!
  • mgcycleguy
    mgcycleguy Posts: 292
    From my experience, there seems a big jump from Sora to Tiagra, but less of a gap Tiagra to 105.. then another big jump to Ultegra ... i've never ridden on Dura Ace

... though to be fair, my experience of 105 is on a mixed set-up on my winter bike, so it may be a little unfair
  • Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791
    I changed from Tiagra to 105 a couple of years ago and there was a huge difference. But Shimano have released a new Tiagra since then which is much better than the old.

TBH the only way to find out is to ride them both.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    having just done a road build (my first for many a year)
    I had a good look at the bits and the value.

Cranks the only difference is a thinner walled axle on the 105. for the cost difference not worth it.
    decided on a 9spd set up so tiagra levers and front mech but went for the 105 rear mech.

brakes cant comment as i went with a different brand for them.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • rickhotrod
    rickhotrod Posts: 181