Welsh trail centres

shanta
shanta Posts: 278
edited April 2009 in MTB rides
Im new to mtb and am hoping to check out one of the Welsh trail centres this bank hol weekend. Thing is which one? I live in Worcestershire and would like to try somewhere not to far away (about 1.5hrs drive) as being as its my first welsh adventure. Could anyone please give me some advice as to where to go.

Thanks

Comments

• stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Any preference whether you go north or south?

I'm heading south to Cwmcarn and Afan. Cwmcarn is good but only has the one route (and downhill course). For more variety Afan should certainly fit the bill. The Penhydd route at Afan is a good introduction. Depending on exactly where you are in worcestershire I'd guess both will come in around the 1 to 1.5 hr mark down the M50 and along the M4.

I'm lucky as I'll be staying in Cardiff :lol:
    It's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission.

I've bought a new bike....ouch - result
    Can I buy a new bike?...No - no result
  • shanta
    Im in the B98 postcode. According to google maps it will take 2.5 hrs?

I take it by your name that you ride a Stumpy?
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    shanta wrote:
    Im in the B98 postcode. According to google maps it will take 2.5 hrs?

You'll be lucky - I've just checked out Coed-y-Brenin which is (almost) due West of B98 and it's still 2.5 hours away at best. Probably the closest one to you in Wales in Coed Trallwm at Llanwrtyd Wells, but it's VERY small even then it's 2 hours away from you.

Have you considered Sherwood Pines or Cannock?
    shanta wrote:
    I take it by your name that you ride a Stumpy?

No, he's only 4 foot 11 and he's VERY sensitive about it... :lol:
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • shanta
    Yeah, do cannock alot thats why im looking at going further afield. Whats Sherwood pines like then?
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069