Tackling 1st proper climb - Whinlatter Pass

Vitessetortoise
Vitessetortoise Posts: 53
edited April 2009 in Road beginners
Hello all, I’m a bit of a newbie here (lurker) and looking for your opinion on tackling my first proper climb.

I ride 70-100 miles a week as a London commuter but I’ll be in the Lakes next week, just down the road from the Whinlatter pass, so thought I’d have a crack at it.

Question is, my little pipe cleaner legs haven’t seen hills like this before so should I;

a) Go for a pint instead and come back next year better prepared?
b) Remain naïve and just blindly have a go, I could always walk?
c) MTFU, grit my teeth and vow to conquer it inch by inch regardless?

Seriously though, is it really that bad? I'm thinking about driving over it first so I can see what I have ahead of me, though that could be a bad thing.

I’ve sort of promised myself that if I can do some ‘proper’ rides in the lakes I’ll then deserve a shiny new road bike, possibly carbon, certainly expensive.

Opinions or experiences much appreciated

Cheers

VT

Comments

• Feltup
    Feltup Posts: 1,340
    Give it a go, it isn't one of the steeper passes in the Lakes and let's face it if you do blow up you can always turn around and freewheel most of the way back!
    Short hairy legged roadie FCN 4 or 5 in my baggies.

Felt F55 - 2007
    Specialized Singlecross - 2008
    Marin Rift Zone - 1998
    Peugeot Tourmalet - 1983 - taken more hits than Mohammed Ali
  • bigmat
    bigmat Posts: 5,134
    Its a nice climb, quite long but not too steep. Few changes in gradient to keep it interesting. If you're in the area, have a drive up Honister or Hardknott - those are the ones to really fear!
  • nasahapley
    nasahapley Posts: 717